This is the first of my “What’s For Dinner” posts. I’ve had several people ask for recipes that I use frequently – especially the healthy ones! – and I thought this would be a great place to direct folks when they want to know what the Olivers are eating for dinner. A lot of the recipes I’ll be posting are just things I’ve come up with on my own, and most will have the price I paid for the ingredients listed. All of my recipes make enough for dinner AND lunch the next day for two adults, a three-year-old, and a one-year old. We always have last night’s leftovers for lunch!

Jama’s Healthy Spaghetti
The only real downfall for this recipe is that I use canned sauce, which means that there’s more sodium than if I made my own sauce. I’ve found, though, that it’s not only easier to use the canned sauce, but it’s also a lot cheaper. I’m hoping to have enough tomatoes from my garden this summer to can and make my own sauce for practically nothing, but until then, Hunts it is!

1 lb. ground turkey ($1.50)
1 can Hunt’s Spaghetti Sauce ($1.00)
1 medium onion ($0.10)
1 bag Kroger crinkle cut carrots ($1.00)
Great Value Whole Wheat Rotini ($1.00)

Brown ground turkey and chopped onion. Add carrots and spaghetti sauce. Cover and simmer until sauce is thick and carrots are soft (they’re easier to smoosh and hide from the kids if they’re really soft!). Cook pasta according to package directions and mix into sauce mixture (I’ve found that mixing the pasta in with the sauce makes the sauce stretch farther. If I don’t mix it in, I end up with not enough sauce and lots of leftover pasta!)

