I had a hard enough time understanding why in the name of all things sacred Christians were supporting Obama during the campaign, but I just chalked it up to good old fashioned ignorance. I still like to believe that’s the case, because it’s the only way I can justify in my mind such a major inconsistency. I hope now that Christians who supported Obama – more specifically pro-life Christians (as all Christians should be…) – are having a real gut-check moment, and realize their mistake.

President Obama yesterday reversed the policy of refusing to fund international organizations that provide abortions. Our taxpayer dollars will now go, not only to funding organizations in our own country that provide abortions, but also to organziations oversees.

Aside from the vicious killing of innocent children, the thing that I find most disgusting about this move is the way in which Obama and others are referring to the practice of abortion. Their words are careful, calculated, even clinical, and as I sit here looking at my 5-month-old son, remembering how much I loved him from the moment I knew I was pregnant, I must say that I’m having a hard time holding back tears and keeping down my coffee.

Obama said, “It is time we end the politicization of this issue. In the coming weeks, my administration will initiate a fresh conversation on family planning, working to find areas of common ground to best meet the needs of women and families at home and around the world.”

Family planning. What a sweet way to refer to it. I also really appreciate how Obama makes sure to mention how he will be meeting the needs of women and families around the world, but not so much the lives of the unborn.

The group Population Action International said “Family planning should not be a political issue; it’s about basic health care and well-being for women and children”…as long as those children don’t happen to be in the wombs of women who don’t want them.

I typically try and avoid the abortion issue. There are such strong feelings on both sides that I tend to simply shy away from the confrontation. That’s been easy to do with a President who believes as I do on the abortion issue, but as we now have a President – who was placed in office with the votes of many, many “Christians” – that is clearly going to reverse policy that has for the last 8 years worked to protect the most vulnerable, I will no longer keep my mouth shut.

So, to you pro-life Christians who voted for Obama, I leave you with these words: I hope you’re happy.

