Typing is going a little slow this morning, as I chopped off part of my pointer finger last night while fixing dinner. And I hadn’t even been drinking!

I tried watching the inauguration festivities on the living room tv, but that was vetoed by the two-year-old who knows that 10am is time for Sesame Street. So, I’ve now got the live feed from Cnn.com playing on my computer, and I’m trying to keep down my breakfast.

It’s just not in my nature to be all bright and cheery about things. I’m a little cynical, as those of you who read my blog regularly have surely figured out. I get it from my mother, who, strangely enough, is actually being optimistic about this whole Obama thing.

I was going to try to watch the inauguration with an excited attitude of “witnessing history,” but the nauseating banter from news anchors on every channel is making it difficult. Maybe I should overlook our vast political differences and just appreciate the excitement of the day, but that is terribly difficult for a gal like me.

I can’t help but think about all that Obama has said he’s going to do to our country. I can’t help but be afraid of the next four years. I can’t help but remember how little we truly know about Barack Obama.

So I will try to watch the inauguration with optimism, but I won’t stop calling my Obama-supporting friends “communists.” 😉

