Before I get back to my “real” life of bed-making, clothes-washing, house-cleaning, and birthday party planning for a soon-to-be 2-year-old, I have a few things to get off my chest concerning the events of the day.

As if it’s not annoying enough to have the news media absolutely wetting all over themselves as they report the inauguration of Barack Obama, there have actually been several people being snippy to those of us who aren’t thrilled with the new President.

“Way to rain on the parade”

“I feel sad that you guys are so negative”

First of all, I am not going to be all bright and cheery unless there is good reason to be. I am not optimistic about the next four years, and I’m not going to pretend that I am. It would be like watching a group of your friends running as hard as they can toward a giant cliff and just cheering them on as they go. I firmly believe that our country is headed in another bad direction, and I’m not going to sit by and watch it happen with a big grin on my face for the sake of “not being negative.”

For the record, I would be nearly as un-optimistic if McCain had been sworn in today rather than Obama. There is so little difference between the two major political parties nowadays that it matters little who the face in the White House is – there is a very narrow spectrum of where we will go as a country under the leadership of either a Republican or a Democrat. Until we reach a point where there are some viable third-party candidates for National office, very little will change politically. You may have noticed that Obama has already back-pedaled on some major issues…Iraq, for example.

Second, we have endured scores of negative comments about former President Bush from those who are now upset that folks are picking on Obama. Not that I am a major Bush-supporter, but it seems a bit hypocritical to now get upset when the shoe is on the other foot. I criticized Bush, and now I will criticize Obama. Suck it up. I further know without doubt that, had McCain become the new Commander-in-Chief, scores of Democrats would be raining on the inauguration parade with some fiercely negative comments.

It’s days like today when the politically inexperienced take part in the process, and get their feelings hurt by the bitterness that goes along with politics. Those of us who are a part of the political scene on a daily basis are used to the fighting, back-biting, and plain old disagreements that go along with the process, and can fight with each other without hard feelings. I look forward to a return to the hum-drum, everyday chats about policy decisions that only interest the die-hard political junkies, so we can call each other idiots and still be friends.

