I was actually planning on writing this morning about why I think Davis should take the high road and go ahead and concede, but when I read the Op-Ed piece in the Bristol Herald Courier, I decided to write a slightly different post.

I do think that David Davis should concede – quickly. I criticized Venable in 2006 for delaying concession, and I’ll do the same to Davis this year. Hanging on by your fingernails to a loss – whether “fair” or not – makes you look like a sore loser, which is especially bad for business if you’re planning on reentering the political arena.

Sure, Democrats crossed over to vote against Davis, but that’s par for the course in an open election system. While we may never know the motivation of all those Democrats who crossed over, there is a difference between crossing over to vote against someone you think was an ineffective legislator and crossing over to vote for a “loser” to get your man in office. My initial impression is that a number of Democrats crossed over in order to vote against someone they deem ineffective, not for someone they think will actually lose the general election. Fair or not, this is part of having an open election system, something that, as an Independent, I support.

Now, about that Herald Courier piece…

The Bristol Herald Courier’s criticism of Davis is that he is a “a hard-right conservative with no interest in working across the aisle.” I’m not sure what definition of “hard right conservative” the Courier is using, but, according to my definition, this does not describe Davis. “Rank and file Republican” may have been a more apt description, but that’s neither here nor there. This notion of “working across the aisle” is a new phenomenon in political-speak that is more of a code for “bend over and take it up the tailpipe from the Democrats.” Anyone that refuses to bow to ideals that they find to be morally reprehensible or bad for the country is labeled a “spoil sport” who doesn’t play well with others. Funny…I’ve never heard a Democrat criticized for refusing to “work across the aisle…”

Further, the Courier criticized Davis for only working with those “who belong to a particular church, club, political party or social class.”

David Davis is well aware that he and I disagree on some major issues, but this hasn’t stopped him from calling me a few times a year to check in, to see if I or my family needs anything, or just to say “hello.” If you’re upset that Davis didn’t “play” with you during his term in Congress, then maybe you’re the one not playing well with others.

I didn’t vote for Davis this year. It’s not, however, that I think Davis was such a terrible legislator, it’s just that we have some fundamental differences in belief on how the Federal government should be run.

What sort of legislator will Roe be (assuming that he wins in November, which is probably a given in this district…)? I don’t know. I just hope that he doesn’t “work across the aisle” in the standard sense of the phrase, or we might as well go ahead and vote for Democrat Rob Russell and be done with it…

