I’m having one of those days when I feel like the world is out to get me.

Complaint #1: Maternity clothes.

While this has nothing to do with politics or government (please, please, don’t write your Congressman on this issue), I am particularly frustrated with the lack of decent maternity clothes available for purchase. Why is it that designers of maternity clothes think that, once you become pregnant, you suddenly want to wear shirts with layers, big bows on your belly, and interesting pieces of appliqué? I want to dress the way that I did before I got pregnant! Someone design me some affordable, non-pregnant-looking clothes, please…

Complaint #2: Health insurance.

For the second year in a row, our family’s health insurance costs have gone up. We’re waiting to see if our coverage has gone down, as it did last year. On the one hand, I’m thankful that we have health insurance. I have a few nagging medical conditions and kids are always having to go to the doctor, not to mention this knack I have for getting pregnant, so I’m glad that we’ve got some sort of coverage. But year after year I can’t help but feel that I’m getting it up the tailpipe. Nevertheless, Barack Obama can take his government health insurance plan and stick it where the sun don’t shine! I’d rather pay through the nose for crappy health insurance than get stuck with whatever our miserable government is dishing out any old day. If worse comes to worse I’ll start growing my own medicinal herbs and birth my own babies. So there.

Complaint #3: The government.

I’m always angry at the government, but today I hate taxes. A lot. With food and fuel prices going up, I’m faced with moving things around in our budget in order to pay for necessities. I’m glad I actually have areas in the budget that still “give,” but we’re running out of room. All those taxes that come out of the hubby’s paycheck would sure come in handy right now, but the government is having way too much fun wasting our money. Thanks Congress…bailing out Fannie and Freddie is a much better idea than actually letting hard-working Americans keep their own money to spend as they see fit. Like paying their mortgages.

Complaint #4: Crazy Conservatives.

A church shooting in Knoxville yesterday was motivated by hatred for the liberal movement. Way to give conservatives a bad name. Thanks a lot. As if George W. hasn’t done enough to damage our reputation we need some shotgun-wielding mental patient shooting liberals in the name of conservatism. I can’t wait to see how the media plays this one out…

