Taking a break from my standard political blather (which I like to do every now and then, especially around certain holidays), allow me to share what my dream Mother’s Day would look like. And if anyone wants to forward this to my husband, feel free.

Although many call Mother’s Day a “Hallmark Holiday,” I have to tell you that nothing I want for Mother’s Day can be purchased at Hallmark. Or even Wal Mart. What do I want for Mother’s Day?

A day off.

For you men and children (and other non-moms) out there who haven’t realized it yet, “Mother” is the only job where you never, ever, ever get a day off. Even farmers can delegate their chores in order to go to church on Sunday morning. As mommy-in-residence, church attendance still requires me to wipe noses, change diapers, and ensure my little one is fed. Oh, and then there’s the worry. Did that other kid in the nursery have green snot this morning? Is the “hitter” here? Will my little one try and climb the bookcase without the nursery worker noticing and fall to his doom?

You guys that come home from work and put your feet up after a long, hard day’s work have it made! Even after my little one goes to bed, there’s still toys to be picked up, lunches to pack, a kitchen to clean, and a never-ending pile of laundry to work on. And just because the little ones are asleep doesn’t mean they will stay that way. I might as well carry a pager. Oh, wait…I do. It’s called a “baby monitor.”

Even Sunday, the supposed “day of rest,” is still a work day for moms. Children still have to be dressed, changed, fed, and otherwise tended to. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner – even if prepared in advance – still have to be placed on dishes and put in front of the family. Dishes still have to be washed. Messes cleaned up. The chores don’t take a break!

Not that I am complaining.

My dream has been, for many years now, to be the “June Cleaver” of my generation. Only better. I am an educated, hard-working gal who sees no greater purpose than caring for my family and I do it with gusto. I am a cleaner, accountant, daycare worker, teacher, cook, business manager, personal shopper, and cheerleader all rolled into one. And I love it!

But we all need a day off now and then. My last day off was due to a raging sinus infection, so I don’t really think that counts.

So, tomorrow, I want breakfast in bed. I want someone to bring coffee to me. I want my son dressed, changed, fed, and ready for church without my having to lift a finger (or wag my tongue). I want lunch placed delicately in front of me, and my kitchen cleaned without a second thought. I want to come home from evening church service and play with my little one without a care in the world, knowing that dinner will be on the table momentarily. I don’t want to pick up toys, wipe noses, change diapers, or refill sippy cups.

I want what most of you get a day or two a week.

A day off.

And I bet your mom would like one, too.

The other 364 days of the year, we’ve got it all covered, but tomorrow, give us a break. We’ll be back on duty Monday morning, refreshed, smiling, and ready for another year of work.

