Man I hate government. But I sure do hate smoking, too. I’ve got to say I’m a little torn on this issue!

Rep. Burchett (R – Knoxville) introduced legislation in the Tennessee State Senate that would ban smoking within 25 yards of hospitals. This is to keep non-smoking employees and patients from having to pass through a haze of smoke in order to enter the building. As a pregnant asthmatic, the idea of having to “pass through a haze of smoke” makes me want to vomit. Passing legislation to keep me from the torture, though, makes me nauseated as well.

The legislation failed passing the chamber by one vote. Burchett plans to reintroduce the measure at a later date.

While I hate the smell of cigarettes in the morning (or any other time of day, for that matter), I have to say that I think a smoking ban is something for individual hospitals to tackle, rather than government. The Johnson City Medical Center, for example, has banned smoking on their entire property (glory! I’ve said a good word about JCMCH!). This is how a smoking ban should be handled.

So, while I appreciate the effort to clear the air around medical facilities, let’s leave it up to the hospitals themselves to remove the cloud of smoke at their entrances.

