Interesting headline, eh?

There are a few news stories circulating right now about which I have a thing or two to say, but not enough for an entire post each (kind of like last weekend’s “News from the Weekend“).

Obama Ditches Pastor from His Campaign

The whole “Obama’s pastor is a nut-job” story didn’t interest me much, as I kind of assumed that Obama’s pastor wouldn’t exactly mesh with my belief system. Now, however, that Obama has repudiated Pastor Wright’s questionable statements and removed him from his campaign, I find the pundits’ analysis of these moves quite interesting. I actually laughed out loud yesterday during Wolf Blitzer’s “The Situation Room” on CNN when Donna Brazile said that Obama’s repudiation of his pastor’s statements shows that he’s a “man of character.” Sorry, Donna, but it actually shows that Obama is a politician who sees the need to drop that hot potato before he ruins the campaign. A “man of character” would have called his pastor out on his questionable statements and beliefs long before he ran for president, and certainly wouldn’t have had him working on the campaign. There’s nothing terribly respectable about ditching someone that is hurting your campaign – it’s called “political expediency.”

Soon-to-Be-Former Governor Spitzer’s Hooker Revealed

When Spitzer’s hooker was first exposed, the story was, “Hey, here she is!” Now, her lawyer has come out to say “she’s not a public figure” and is indicating that there may be legal action taken against those who have published her pictures for profit. People are beginning to talk about whether it’s “fair” for her to be brought out in the open. While I agree that there is a legal issue here if someone is making money off her picture without permission, she posted her pictures on the internet through Myspace and other sites, so an expectation of privacy is a little much to ask. As for being a “public figure,” she deserves as much scorn as Governor Spitzer for her actions, as she is a criminal who not only helped destroy a governor’s administration but also a family. I have nearly as much personal disdain for her actions as I do Governor Spitzer (who should have known better).

I Agree with Richard Gere! (Sort of…)

Richard Gere is calling for a boycott of the Beijing Olympic Games if China “mishandles” Tibet. I’m not one to jump on the “Free Tibet” bandwagon, but I can tell you that I wouldn’t mind a bumper sticker that reads “Free Tibet – Anything to Tick Off China!” I agree with Gere that we should consider boycotting the Olympics, but not necessarily because of the situation in Tibet. I think we should boycott the Olympics because the Chinese (government, at least) are nothing but a bunch of dirty, dirty Communists. I can’t imagine that Ronald Reagan would want us participating in the “Communist Olympics…”

Free the Grapes!

I got a phone call yesterday from State Representative Matthew Hill to chat about a story that will be appearing in the Johnson City Press. An interview was conducted with Hill concerning the bill currently in the State House that would ease restrictions on wine sales in Tennessee, allowing for the yummy stuff to be sold in grocery stores and on the internet. I’ve talked about this issue before, and you all know that I fully support this legislation. Most of you also know that Hill is not a big supporter of alcohol. He is, however, a big supporter of small government. While we can’t be sure how the Press article will be spun, Hill wanted to make it abundantly clear that, while he’s not a drinker, he does not feel that the government should over-regulate a legal product. We should be able to expect Hill to vote in favor of this bill.

