My grandfather passed away this week. While we are all, of course, sad and are going to miss papaw very much, it was so nice for me to be able to get together with my entire family. We, for various reasons, have, shall we say, disagreements, and generally don’t even spend holidays together. There are a few of us – those of us that still get along – that hang out on Thanksgiving and Christmas, but the “black sheep” are generally excluded.

So, over the last couple of days I’ve enjoyed, despite the circumstances, spending time with my family – “black sheep” and all.

The reason I tell you all of this is because, as you know from some of my previous posts, that I have particular family members with whom I enjoy discussing politics.

Today we discussed how utterly absurd it is that Congress actually spent time and tax dollars having hearings on Major League Baseball players using steroids. I remember the day that I turned on CNN to get a valid news update and was quite disappointed to discover that they were airing the “MLB Hearings.” My thought at the time was “Isn’t this something better suited for ESPN?”

On a day when the top news stories were the tanking dollar, sky-high gas prices, a declining economy, and the war in Iraq, our illustrious Congressmen were listening to a bunch of big, dumb jocks talk about whether or not they were using steroids. Absurd doesn’t even begin to describe it.

The quote of the day comes from my brother-in-law:

“I don’t care if baseball players want to shoot diesel fuel up their rear ends and light it on fire. It doesn’t effect me one bit.”

Amen and amen.

