The head of the International Obesity Task force wants world leaders to ensure that everyone eats “healthy.”

I could immediately go into the ridiculous “Brave New World” comparisons, but I’ll save that for later. If Professor Phillip James had his way, I wouldn’t be able to eat the delicious pepperoni pizza I had for lunch today. The fact of the matter is, that I’m suffering from absolutely debilitating pregnancy queasiness, and there are very few foods that I can tolerate. I typically do try and eat healthy (just ask my miserable husband who, up until a couple of weeks ago hadn’t seen a french fry in over a year…), but in these early days of pregnancy my palate takes an unfortunate turn. The fact of the matter is that unless I’m able to eat crap, I’m not going to eat, because everything else makes me want to vomit. I’m a smart gal, so I make sure to keep things reasonable – I don’t eat chocolate cake for dinner simply because it sounds good, but during the first trimester of pregnancy, when my taste buds revolt and I constantly feel like I’m about to lose my lunch, I eat junk. It’s better than nothing, don’t you think?

Back to the fat police: Mr. Chairman of All Things Healthy wants governments to make sure that we all eat healthy and maintain a healthy weight. I agree that keeping one’s weight in check is terribly important, but it is certainly not the government’s job to make sure that I keep it under 130 pounds.

Granted, I’ve always been thin. Ok, except after my last pregnancy when I blew up enough to be led down the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade route attached to a bunch of strings (I lost the weight, ok?!?). So I don’t really understand the battle of the bulge. I judge people based on the contents of their grocery carts. I feel the urge to tell overweight people that the 24-pack of Mtn. Dew in their buggy probably isn’t doing anything good for their waist-line. But I completely respect their right to be a big, fat tub of goo.

I know that arguments can be made for the health care industry. Overweight people are a drain on our health care system. They’re unhealthy, more likely to suffer from chronic illness, and die early. But that’s a problem for their insurance companies, not the government.

The BBC article references children, and the greater difficulties they will face as overweight adults, including lower school and job performance and shorter life-spans. I can’t disagree that children who are not raised with the knowledge of healthy living face a daunting future, but so do kids whose parents don’t appreciate education or the importance of the arts.

Look, obesity is a huge problem and I don’t mean to make light of it. Like I said, I’m a bit of a health nut and I fully appreciate the need for a healthy diet. But I also appreciate the need for a half-gallon of mint chocolate chip ice cream without the government telling me I don’t need it ’cause it’s going to go straight to my behind. This is an issue that needs to be addressed by the likes of “The Biggest Loser” (a great show, I might add), not the international fat police.

I think I’m going to eat some greasy Japanese food for dinner just to spite them…

