I’d first like to complain about the fact that I’m suffering from a miserable cold. Being pregnant and having a cold is more unbearable than you could ever possibly imagine, because I can’t take any of the good drugs. While you people get to pass out with the likes of Nyquil, I get a dose or two of Benadryl. So do the pregnant ladies a favor and keep your colds to yourself. Stay home, drink your Nyquil, and leave the rest of us alone!

Since I have this miserable cold (and no drugs to make me feel even marginally better), I spent all of yesterday laying on the couch watching CNN “Super Tuesday Coverage.” If I hadn’t already been well-versed in presidential politics, yesterday would have provided my education. Except, of course, no one ever even mentioned Ron Paul. I would have ended the day asking, “Who’s that old guy they occasionally show when talking about the Republicans?” And people wonder why Paul hasn’t done better in the primaries.

First, some local good news: the Washington County Wheel Tax went down like a flat tire. As of my going to bed last night, 22 of 42 precincts were reporting, and the wheel tax was losing (and we were winning!) 70% to 30%. No big surprise there, huh? What I find terribly interesting is that I can’t find a single story on the wheel tax election results on any of the local news sites. Don’t you find that odd?

As for the presidential race, Huckabee won Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Tennessee, and West Virginia. McCain won Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, and Oklahoma. Romney won Alaska, Colorado, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Utah.

The thing I kind of like about these results is that none of the pundits predicted that Huckabee had a chance. They, of course, are now not admitting that they were actually wrong, but are saying things like, “Well, people from the McCain and Huckabee camps banded together to make sure that Romney didn’t win” and “Well, of course he took the south” (implying that we’re a bunch of dumb, bible-thumping hillbillies who’ll vote for anyone who invokes the name of Jesus. Which may very well be true, but I don’t appreciate the folks on CNN saying so).

While McCain’s delegate count is now 615, Romney’s 268, Huckabee’s 169, and Paul’s 16, and it looks like McCain will end up with the nomination, my hope is that neither Romney, Huckabee, nor Ron Paul drops out anytime soon. Huckabee has said he will not drop out until someone has the delegates needed to secure the nomination, and I hope he sticks by that. I hate the idea of people in the later primary states are stuck with whatever blow-hard happened to win the earlier states. Everyone at least needs a chance to vote for whomever they really see fit to run the country.

I’m sure I’ll have more to say on yesterday’s goings-on later in the day, so be sure and check back. I’m going to go lay on the couch with my Benadryl and watch CNN.

