While I would never in a million years vote for Mike Huckabee, his appearance in the Tri Cities today was a nice opportunity to go see a presidential candidate. A gal like me can’t pass that up. Shoot, I’d go see Hillary herself if she came to the Tri Cities. I wouldn’t wear a button or hold a sign, but I’d sure go!

My mom went with me, as did my one-year-old (like he had a choice), and they really wanted me to promise not to tell anyone they were there. They know, however, that anything like an appearance by a presidential candidate in our area is ripe to go on the blog, so they were satisfied with the excuse that we were going to the rally as a part of the “press.”

Besides, James enjoyed the music:

Photobucket

So, as soon as we walked in to the building where the rally was held, I heard a Christian song playing over the loud speakers, someone tried to give me an “I Vote the Bible” button, and my mother was handed a flyer that had a copy of a letter to the editor from Rebecca Nidiffer Bounds of Bristol which had such, shall we say “interesting,” quotes as:

“God has given us a ‘man for this hour’…Mike Huckabee is a devout Christian…whose heart openly, unashamedly and compassionately espouses the virtues that were so perfectly manifested in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. These virtues compelled Christ to carry the cross on our behalf…”

Something tells me Mike Huckabee isn’t going to be “carrying a cross” for any of us…

It never ceases to amaze me how blindly people follow an individual who claims to be a Christian. Stick your “Real Men Love Jesus” bumper sticker on the back of your truck and I’m sure you’ll get a heck of a lot of votes. It’s pretty easy, folks, to claim to be a Christian when it’s going to get you votes.

I’m not questioning Mike Huckabee’s faith…that’s not my place. Only God knows his heart…but I know Mike Huckabee’s record.

Anywho, back to the rally. Much to my surprise and dismay, introducing Huckabee was my buddy, Congressman David Davis. Davis, too, ran on the “Christian Ticket,” so I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised by his glowing endorsement. Surprised, no. Disappointed, yes. Photobucket

After Davis’ introduction in which he quoted scripture and preached the evils of abortion (neither of which I am willing to dispute), out came Huckleberry! Photobucket

I’ll be the first to admit that Huckabee is a spectacular speaker…much better than John McCain. I could listen to Mike Huckabee all the live-long day. I know I’m listening to a load of bull, but he makes me enjoy it. I suppose being a former Baptist minister, he learned how to speak in the pulpit. Had ya’ll heard he’s a former Baptist minister? 😉

Although, I have to be honest, I spent most of speech snapping pictures and looking around for people I know. If you’ve heard a candidate’s “stump speech” once, you’ve heard it a thousand times. I was able to quote pieces of Davis’ speech to my mom before he even got the words out of his mouth. What I found so entertaining was the political newbies eating up his speech like it was the greatest thing they’d ever heard. I’m sure G.W. said much the same thing when he was running 8 years ago, and look where that got us.

The most exciting part of the day was when Chuck Norris came for a visit. Photobucket

Unfortunately for Mike, the only way Chuck Norris is going to get me to vote for him is if I’m threatened with a Norris-style beat-down.

The fact of the matter is that Mike Huckabee is not a conservative. I’ve written about it several times on this very blog. Huckabee’s record is not conservative, his support of a cap and trade system is not conservative, his desire for Federal involvement in education is not conservative, his support of preemptive war is not conservative, his notion of the Federal government encouraging a “prevention based health care system” is not conservative…need I go on? Then there’s the simple question that I have for Huckabee: Given that being a pastor is a special and specific calling from God, why is it that Huckabee decided to leave the ministry and become a politician?

I saw several kiddies from Tri-Cities Christian School at the rally as well as several homeschoolers. I was terribly disappointed. I suppose I just don’t know how to get past the “I’m votin’ for Jesus” layer. It’s too easy for a politician to invoke the name of God and get the evangelicals all in a dither. An update: I actually saw on the news tonight that most of the kids from Tri-Cities Christian are “unsure” of for whom they are going to vote. So, I stand corrected. I’m actually quite impressed that a bunch of “undecided” high school students took the time to go to a presidential candidate’s rally…even if that candidate was Mike Huckabee.

All in all – despite the overwhelming nausea I had as a result of the unashamed political Bible-thumping – it was a fun morning. Plus I got to see Chuck Norris.

Check out all my pictures of the rally at Huckabee Rally Pics:

