When I tuned in to CNN’s Reagan Library Republican “Debate,” I expected to actually see a debate between the four remaining Republican Presidential candidates. One, in watching the “debate,” would be virtually unaware that there are more than two candidates remaining. What was supposed to be a debate was actually Anderson Cooper’s dog (McCain) and pony (Romney) show.

In an hour and a half, I saw exactly one question directed at Ron Paul, and only a handful offered to Mike Huckabee. Those two, of course, are the only ones I actually care to hear speak. I certainly wouldn’t vote for Huckabee, but I could listen to him talk all night. Ron Paul is the only candidate that doesn’t make me feel like I need a shower after listening to him.

Sadly, all I got to hear was McCain and Romney argue back and forth over who said what when and what it they supposedly meant. McCain has got to be the most boring speaker on the face of the planet. Anyone who can bore me while talking about anything political has some sort of special Jedi boredom ability unsurpassed in all of mankind.

Romney merely strikes me as the dirtiest of all political figures: the guy whose speech-writer/political adviser is whispering into his ear what to say next in order to stir up the idiot electorate. I get no sincerity from him, no actual core belief system. If he’s got it, he’s certainly not good at showing it.

So, allow me to expand upon a couple of the answers of the two candidates who were ignored throughout the debate.

Mike Huckabee made a very good point concerning the economic stimulus package. When asked about his position that, rather than giving tax rebates to individuals to stimulate the economy, we should build highways, Huckabee stated that giving money to the American people to spend on consumable goods isn’t going stimulate the economy. He makes a good point. A permanent tax reduction? Sure. But a one-time rebate? Doubtful. His idea, however, that we should build highways instead is absurd. Talk of Boston’s Big Dig revealed a prime example of why government shouldn’t be spending our money building highways: government stinks at managing projects. The Big Dig took too long and cost too much. Why? Because the government ran it. So, while Huckabee is right on the money that tax rebates – no matter how much we appreciate them – are not going to stimulate the economy, he is way off track if he really thinks that increasing government programs is going to fix anything either.

Ron Paul had a couple of unbelievably brief opportunities to speak about monetary policy, which, considering the condition of our economy at this time, was great to hear. I’ve said before, however, that the vast majority of Americans think that “Fiat” is a type of car, and Paul’s talk of the “gold standard” and “worthless currency” probably went over most people’s heads.

An hour and a half debate, and this is all I’ve got for you. I spent a big chunk of time during the debate picking up toys, washing dishes, and waiting anxiously for the questions Cooper promised to Huckabee and Paul. I’m still waiting.

The debate was a joke and I’m a bit irritated that I wasted my time watching it. But, you know me…I can’t turn off a debate. Even a really, really bad one.

