It’s a slow news day, so I figured I’d just whine a bit about how tired I am of the presidential race.

I always begin an election season bright-eyed and dreamy about the possibilities that lay ahead. I forget for a while that we are stuck with a ridiculous two-party system, about which we were warned by George Washington:

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to
subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion.

Farewell Address, Sep. 17, 1796

If only we had listened.

I also forget for a bit that most people don’t pay attention to politics in a way sufficient for them to cast an educated vote. This isn’t entirely their fault, for most people were educated by the very government that wants, through the idiocy of the electorate, to stay in power.

I dream that we will be blessed with leaders who will actually work to preserve our liberties, to limit the control of government over our lives, and act in an honorable manner.

I hope that this will be the year that people will wake up and realize what they’ve voted into office in the past and actually vote for a change. Not the absurd campaign slogan notion of change that everyone is crying about now, but real change. A move away from special interests and empty promises. An effort to actually reduce the size of government rather than increasing it. Actual honesty.

I now, however, am faced with the same bunch of boobs that we were presented last election season…a little older, but none the wiser. The couple of candidates that would actually provide us with a “founding fathers” kind of election are largely ignored, and everyone (or, nearly everyone) is voting for the same-old-same-old while pretending that they’re really something different. It’s terribly disappointing.

So, rather than watch the evening news or the four hundredth debate to air on CNN, my husband and I play with our son while listening to Jack Johnson and dreaming of living on a deserted island without such a deplorable government. Then I get up the next day and read the headlines, hoping against all hope that today will be different. Today I’ll see a report that indicates that people have stopped “drinking the kool-aid” and are finally educating themselves about what our country should be – what it was intended to be.

Can anyone relate?

