Wesley Snipes: Tax Evader and My New Favorite Actor

When I heard that Snipes was being prosecuted for tax evasion I thought it was just another meaningless Hollywood report – something only Entertainment Tonight watchers would care about. Something, however, told me to read an article on Snipes that I saw this morning, and I’m glad I did.

It turns out that Snipes is positioning himself as Hollywood’s tax protester at-large, claiming that the 861 position allows him to avoid paying taxes on his wages. Take that, IRS!

Although position 861, which is named after a part of the tax code, has been rejected by courts as illegitimate, juries have bought the argument, letting some tax protesters off the hook.  The 861 position states that “a regulation applying the 861 provision does not list wages as taxable, though it does say that ‘compensation for services’ is taxable” (NY Times).

So, Mr. Snipes, my new favorite actor, I commend you for sticking it to the IRS. While I can’t condone law-breaking, per se, I fully support your attempt at – shall we say – circumventing an unethical stealing of your cash through clever legal dealings.

