Saturday, January 5th, 2008


The Democrats are still debating, and I’m only half listening. They all sound the same…blah, blah, blah, raise your taxes…blah, blah, blah, you’re too dumb to take care of yourself so we need to do it for you…it’s entirely too tiresome for me. I think I’m going to have to turn it off for fear that I will have nightmares of Hillary’s shrill voice. Yikes.

The Republican debate was the best I’ve seen so far. The format was more conducive to an exchange of ideas, rather than the “sound bite” format offered in other debates.

I’ll only go over a few things that stuck out for me:

I was thrilled that Ron Paul had the opportunity to discuss monetary policy. Unfortunately, the vast majority of the government-school educated American public probably sat staring blankly at the television. Most Americans think that “fiat” is a type of car, but for those of us that actually pay attention to such things Ron Paul was a breath of fresh air.

Fred Thompson was, I think, the guy that people have been waiting for him to be tonight. He was relaxed, confident, and funny. He didn’t seem quite as bored as he has in the other debates, although he didn’t seem as engaged as the other candidates. I enjoyed his brief, to-the-point answers; I did not enjoy his barbs at the other candidates.

McCain crashed and burned. His pokes at Romney were uncomfortable at best, unbelievably rude at worst. Although his “Governor Romney, you are the candidate of change” comment would have been funny coming from a blogger or political commentator, it just seemed desperate coming from a fellow candidate. Most of us don’t enjoy the political backbiting that is so prevalent in today’s elections, and McCain was the world’s worst tonight.

Romney, Giuliani, and Huckabee made me feel like I need a shower. I don’t believe a word that comes out of their mouths and I have very little doubt that they are driven by nothing more than a desire for power. Their answers were rehearsed, unbelievable, and, really, downright insulting.

I’m sorry…I’ve left the debate on and Barack Obama just uttered the phrase “self-government.” I don’t know whether to laugh at the fact that he thinks that we actually believe he favors self government or cry because he thinks that his form of government is self government.

On a final note, I have loved the link-up with facebook – this night has been a political junkie’s dream. I got to sit in front of the tv, watching a debate, answering debate questions on facebook. It doesn’t get any better than this…

In a word, no.

There’s no question that a lot of evangelicals are supporting Huckabee, but they’re making a grave mistake.

Huckabee (President Logan from 24, Huckleberry…whatever you want to call him) has snowed many evangelical Christians into believing that he’s “God’s candidate.” My question for Huckabee is, “If you were called to be a pastor (which is a direct, special calling from God, different and distinct from any other calling), then why did you abandon that calling and become a politician?” Maybe he got a new calling – “Go, my son….lie to my people.”

Huckabee’s record shows absolutely no indication that he is anything more than your run-of-the-mill neo-con. He certainly has given us no reason to believe he’s our “Moses in the desert.” Oh, except that he keeps telling us he is by running around to churches saying “I’m your guy!”

During his campaign in Iowa, Huckabee gave “private” speeches at churches – dozens of churches, reports say. I feel like a need a shower.

I am appalled at the way Huckabee is using his past as a preacher to woo unsuspecting voters. Especially when his political record reflects no such Christian commitments. It is working, though. Which makes me very embarrassed to be a Christian.

I’ve actually heard people say, “Well, he used to be a Baptist minister, so I don’t really need to know anything else about him!” No disrespect to my Baptist friends, but the structure of the Baptist church allows any nut burger who says they have a calling from God to take on the “ministry,” so being a former Baptist preacher says as much about a person as “I breathe air” or “I’m a human – vote for me!” My mom – a life-long Baptist – said as much to me yesterday when we were discussing how Huckabee gives us the heebie-jeebies.

What astounds me is the several Christian “leaders” (and I put “leaders” in quotes because their leadership ability is questionable) are endorsing Huckabee’s candidacy. It has become not unlike the Hollywood endorsements of liberal candidates. These people know very little about government, but think that “because he’s one of us” or “says really neat things” surely he’ll be a good leader of the free world.

My hope is that Huckabee’s political Bible-beating will cause him to crash and burn before the national election. He is not all that he says he is, and the thought of Huckabee becoming president is almost as scary to me as Hillary. Perish the thought.