I pray that I’m not getting the whole story. I’ve followed a few links for this bit of news and still can’t seem to get more information than what the Washington Post report supplied.

The story seems to be that there are roughly 2,000 children in Prince George’s County in Maryland (a suburb of D.C.) who are not currently attending school because they have not been immunized. This is according to the State Attorney and school officials.

If these children are not immunized immediately, their parents can be fined up to $50 per day and face up to 10 days in jail.

Now, if these parents want to send their kids to government schools, then they have to deal with the fact that their kids have to be vaccinated. So, if this is the only reason that school officials and the State Attorney are pursuing the parents – because they want their kids to go to the government schools but don’t want to go through the hassle of having their kids immunized – then OK. If you don’t like it, don’t send your kids to the government schools.

What is unclear in the article is whether or not all of the children who do not meet the state’s immunization requirements are attending (or planning to attend) government schools. If any of these children are home schooled, then the state should be politely told by the offending parents to smooch the posterior region of said parent.

I fully support immunizations. My child is getting his scheduled vaccinations despite the fact that he will never, never, never attend a government school. I am vaccinating him because I believe that it is best for him to be protected from serious diseases such as Polio, Measles, Hepatitis B, etc.

Imagine, however, that states decide to mandate the vaccination of pre-teen girls for the sexually transmitted disease, HPV. My daughter (if I am ever blessed with one) will not receive this vaccine. I will, as an alternative, teach my daughter not to be a slut. And that is my right as a parent. If parents who are not sending their children to government schools don’t want to vaccinate their children, then the state has absolutely no right to punish them for that decision.

While I fully appreciate the importance of widespread vaccinations in order to maintain the health of the population, I also fully appreciate the right of parents to decide whether or not they want to vaccinate their own children. The state be damned.

So, I will be quite interested to see how the situation plays out in Prince George’s County, MD, and whether or not we end up with a fascinating court case concerning the rights of parent to decide against vaccinating their children. I’ll follow the story and keep you posted…

