Former Presidential candidate, Ralph Nader, has sued the Democratic Party, contending that they conspired to disrupt his campaign in order to keep him from taking votes away from 2004 presidential candidate, John Kerry.

I have to say that when I saw the headline, “Ralph Nader Sues Democratic Party,” on Drudge this morning, I snickered a bit. As I read the article, however, I thought, “Hmm…this may have merit.”

I certainly wouldn’t put it past the Democratic Party – or the Republican Party, for that matter – to do everything within reach, including breaking the law, to keep a third party candidate from taking votes away from “their” guy. The two major parties have a strangle-hold on the political process and I can’t imagine that they take too kindly to folks trying to represent the rest of us taking away their precious votes.

Nader alleges that the Democratic Party, John Kerry’s Campaign, the Service Employees International Union and several so-called 527 organizations attempted to, among other things, bankrupt his campaign by suing to keep him off the ballot in several states and disrupting a petition drive in Portland, OR to keep him from getting enough signatures to be placed on the ballot in that state.

I think it would be interesting if Nader proves his case and wins. That’s not to say that the Dems or the Reps are going to stop badgering (or ignoring) third-party candidates, but it may make them think twice next time.

