In a recent meeting with influential members of the “religious right,” it was decided that, if Guiliani is the Republican nominee in ’08, he will not be supported by conservative Christians. James Dobson said, “I cannot, and will not, vote for Rudy Giuliani in 2008. It is an irrevocable decision. If given a Hobson’s–Dobson’s?–choice between him and Sens. Hillary Clinton or Barack Obama, I will either cast my ballot for an also-ran–or if worse comes to worst–not vote in a presidential election for the first time in my adult life. My conscience and my moral convictions will allow me to do nothing else.”

While I find this encouraging, I echo Chuck Baldwin’s sentiments that so-called conservative Christians have sold out to those who promise to act on abortion or gay marriage, forgetting the numerous other issues with which we should all be concerned. The religious right needs to be very careful not to support a McCain, a Thompson, or a Romney simply because of a campaign promise to protect those hot-button social issues for which the R.R. is so famous.

Having an “r” beside his name no longer means that a candidate supports small government, low spending, or a constitutional republic. It could very well mean big spending, big government, and an utter disregard for the Constitution. It could mean that the candidate is merely a democrat with different special interests.

It is my hope that conservative Christians across the country will be drawn to Ron Paul, who is the only candidate who will respect and uphold the Constitution.  (I had to put in my plug for, as he is referred to on Good Morning Tri Cities, “the man with two first names”!)

My plea to my Christian readers is to look at the candidate as a whole, rather than jumping on a pro-life or anti-gay marriage bandwagon. Take some time to read the Constitution and ponder what it means to live in a constitutional republic. Then determine which candidate will be most likely to protect our rights as Christians by using the constitution as the framers intended.

