I got an Action Alert email the other day from the AFA concerning these ads. I usually ignore the AFA alerts, many of them encouraging me to contact my congressman on some particular issue, but this one piqued my interest. I actually wasn’t going to blog about this particular issue, but when the story showed up on the front page of the Johnson City Press today, I thought it might be worth a second look.

I watched the ads in question (there are two: one, featuring a “teacher” gyrating on a desk as “students” rap about her “flat buns” and another in which a scantily clad woman writhes around explaining what she would like a man to do to her as she eats a patty melt), as a link was provided by AFA (with a warning that the ads were, in fact, offensive). I was mortified. As the mother of a young son (who, by the way, doesn’t watch TV yet), I absolutely couldn’t fathom how horrible it would be for my dear boy to be exposed to such filth – through a television commercial! We’re not talking bad parenting here – e.g., a mom who lets her kid watch MTV or the Playboy channel (we don’t even have anything more than basic cable!) – we’re talking about a commercial that would air on network television!

I should hope that these ads would only run after a certain hour, but, even so, I don’t particularly want my husband exposed to such trash, either. I won’t even get into the damage that has been done to women and the institution of marriage and the marriage relationship thanks to such ads as these, but suffice it to say we were all a lot better off before the media began parading half-naked, gyrating women before our very eyes.

I rarely, rarely eat fast food (I’m a bit of a health nut!), but I am a fan of Hardee’s breakfast…you just can’t beat those biscuits and gravy! Once Hardee’s decided, however, to target a certain, ahem, demographic, I decided that they wouldn’t get my business. My mom made the same decision. As have other people I know. So, while they win the young male who is utterly lacking in morals, they lose the rest of us. If that’s what they want, then so be it.

I do not, however, want to be forced to watch their ads – even the glimpse of their ad that I would have to see before I could change the channel – and I certainly don’t want my son to see them. So, I do support the email campaign spear-headed by the AFA.

According the the JC Press story, local TV station, WCYB, does not even have a copy of the ad in their possession. I hope the other local channels don’t, either. I’m guessing Hardee’s rightly assumed that folks in the Bible belt wouldn’t appreciate their “sense of humor.”

A quote from Hardee’s marketing director: “The ad was intended to be humorous and irreverent…it seemed to be missing the mark with too many people…”

I’m glad to know there are still a significant portion of the population that still has the good sense to not “get” Hardee’s commercials.

