Even without the ridiculous cases of lead paint in children’s products or contaminated toothpaste and pet food, we should not be doing business with the Chinese. Whatever happened to the good old days when Communists were ostracized from the world community? When (and it has to have been at some point during my lifetime, although I can’t seem to remember when it happened) did it become OK to do business with Communists? Since when do we overlook the atrocities taking place on a daily basis in communist countries such as China? And all for a buck?

I was disgusted when I saw the production introducing the world to the glories of Beijing in preparation for the 2008 Olympics. I will not be watching the Olympics in 2008, as I refuse to pay homage to evil Communism. How is it that the world community is putting on a happy face and allowing the Chinese to take part in this celebration, all the while committing heinous human rights violations and enslaving their people to communist ideals? Our local ETSU even exchanges professors with a university in China, sponsoring cheerful little field trips for their students to Communist China.

What ever happened to sanctions? Why are we not outraged that our government (and businesses, students, etc.) are consorting with Communists? Not just Communists, mind you, but Communists who engage in forced abortions (see “Chinese Parents Fight Forced Abortions“, for a recent take on this common Chinese practice) and other human rights atrocities.

I know someone is going to say that it’s all about money, and I know that’s what it boils down to. But when did we become so utterly depraved that money means more to us than the sanctity of human life and the freedoms which all people deserve?

I know it’s going to be difficult, but I am going to make every effort not to buy a single item made in China. Considering the fact that I have a child, and something like 80% of all toys are made in China, I’m sure I’m going to be hard pressed to stop buying from China altogether, but, by golly, I’m going to try.  I encourage you to do the same. We cannot, in good conscience, continue to give our money to such a horrible excuse for a country.

