There are some who are upset that Rep. David Davis opposed the “Dog Fighting Bill” that came before Congress and was signed into law by President Bush in May, which has been brought back into the public arena due to the arrest of Micheal Vick on dog-fighting charges. The funny thing is, some of those who are upset about it claim to be conservative.

My first reaction when I was asked how I felt about Davis’ opposition to the bill was, “The animal-lover in me wants to be upset, but the Constitutionalist in me supports his decision.” After reading Davis’ explanation as to why he opposed the bill, the Constitutionalist in me won out.

Davis said, “The reality is dogfighting and cockfighting are illegal in Tennessee and will continue to be illegal in Tennessee. I don’t feel like you need a new federal law. You have state laws in place. It has nothing to do about my feelings for or against animals. I wish they could look at my vet bill for my dog that passed away about three months ago.”

That’s it in a nutshell. We do not need another federal law. Especially one that is already in place in most states. If you don’t care for the fact that some states don’t have laws against dog-fighting, then go to that state and lobby that state’s government until you get one passed there, but don’t urge the federal government to take on yet another issue that is none of it’s business.

This goes back to what Dr. Ron Paul is fighting against – big government taking over areas of public life that should be left up to state and local governments. Just for review, let’s take a look at the 10th Amendment of the Constitution:

“The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

Tada!!! There you have it. When speaking specifically of the dog-fighting legislation, nowhere in the Constitution does it say that the Federal government has the authority to determine what we do with our animals. It is, therefore, the job of either the states or to the people to regulate said behavior if they so desire.

So, thank you, Rep. Davis, for voting to uphold the Constitution. And I don’t think you’re an animal-hater. 😉

