I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything new…waiting for a baby to arrive is very taxing on the brain.

As I tried to watch the news this morning I was struck with the sheer volume of inane drivel that is sent through the airways packaged as “news.”

For the record, I do not care who was at the Golden Globes, who won, what they were wearing, or where they will be keeping their statue. I would rather not hear stories meant only to tug at my heart strings with interviews consisting of questions like, “how did you feel when your son finally came home after being missing for four years?” (just once I’d like for someone to say, “That’s a ridiculous question. How in the world do you think I felt?”). Leave fashion tips to fashion magazines. What is “hot” this season is not news. If I want to learn to cook, I’ll buy a cookbook or watch the Food Network. Again, this is not news. The “witty banter” between morning news show hosts is not all that witty. When reporting the weather, please tell the people “out on the plaza” to keep it down. It is entirely too early for people to be screaming like caffeinated cheerleaders while I’m trying to hear the weather report. For that matter, please stop showing the waving hordes “out on the plaza;” I don’t know anyone who really wants to see a bunch of people hopping up and down on a NYC sidewalk holding signs that say “Hi mom” and “Minnesota Loves the Today Show.”

On a more positive note, ABC’s morning news show features a news ticker at the bottom of the screen. This is a fabulous idea! I can simply mute the TV and read my morning news. Although they still do include worthless information about things like the Golden Globes and what Brittney Spears is doing today…I can always skip those parts.

Is anyone else irritated by this, or am I just being hormonal? It merely seems to me that television is pandering to the lowest common societal denominator, making us all infinitely less informed. Why is it that I have to dig across the internet in order to find out what’s really going on the world? And how many people are really willing to put forth that kind of effort? Is this some sort of conspiracy, Gary?

