Don’t get me wrong…I think that any sort of tax break is a good thing. Relieve my taxes any old way and I’ll be a happy camper.

However, I am troubled by the upcoming sales tax holiday for a couple of reasons.

For one, I find it very interesting that Tennessee’s very first sales tax holiday is coming during an election year. Accident? I think not. However, political ploy or not, any tax break is at least partly good.

Also, school supplies aren’t really necessities. If those in Nashville really wanted to help the poor (and middle class, and wealthy), they would offer a sales tax holiday on food. Now that’s a holiday I could get excited about. Everybody eats…not everybody buys school supplies. Not to mention that a good bargain shopper can buy a lot of those back-to-school clothes second-hand (or get hand-me-downs from friends and family…or hit a yard sale). Heck, I’m pregnant and I couldn’t tell you the last time I actually bought new clothes. Between church, friends, and family, my closet has been stocked full of nearly-new maternity wear for free. Then again, I’m a bargain genius with really good friends.

I have very little doubt that this whole holiday is a blatant attempt to gain favor in an election year. Nevertheless, I’m sure it’s helping a lot of people, which is very good. I just think we can do better – maybe by cutting spending just a tad and lowering the sales tax by a percent or two year round or eliminating the tax on groceries. Oh, but that would require cutting spending…silly me.

I would, by the way, like to point out that I hesitate to complain about taxes in Tennessee. It is widely known that Tennessee has one of the lowest tax burdens in the country, and that’s one of the reasons I love it here. But, again, I think we can do better. For those of us that live on a budget, every penny counts, so I’m always looking for ways to cut taxes…no matter how low they go!

