This is tough for me to admit, because I love politics. And I do mean I LOVE politics. I adore an election year. Hanging out with politicians and then ripping them apart in writing is the most fun this gal could ask for. So, it would seem, I would never tire of hearing politicians blather on about nonsense. But, here goes…if I see another political commercial, I’m going to vomit.

I’ve taken to keeping the remote in my hand at all times while the TV is on so that I can quickly change the channel when yet another political ad comes on. Keep in mind, though, that the local channels show little else during their commercial breaks, so it’s best to flip to a cable channel…

The thing is, I know that name recognition plays a big role in elections, but, let’s be honest: if you’re going to vote for someone based on his/her commercial, you shouldn’t be voting. The commercials all sound the same (at least as far as the Republican candidates go), so if you’re basing your vote on a commercial, you’re not basing it on the actual candidate. It’s more like you’re voting based on his or her appearance. Not that anyone who takes the time to read this blog would actually be voting based on a commercial…

If the candidate actually faced the camera and talked about the issues or answered questions (maybe clips from the local debates would work well…), then that would be a different story. But, they all have some claim as to why they’re the real conservative and why they’ll be so much better in office than the other guy, blah, blah, blah.

The only commercial I’ve seen that I really liked was Harold Ford Jr.’s “I hate the oil companies” commercial in which he said he would fight to lower gas prices. All while standing in front of his giant SUV. It takes quite a man to pledge to fight high gas prices while driving an SUV…thanks for that personal commitment to conservation, Harold!

Look, if you’re going to vote based on a commercial, or because this guy delivered your baby, or because you went to school with that guy, or because this one’s just so darn nice…stay home. Don’t vote. Your idiocy is diluting the process.

If, on the other hand, you would like to take the time to research the candidates and the issues and then make an informed and reasoned decision, vote early and often. We need you. But, again, I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir here.

