When I started this post, I intended for it to be a one-day overview, but as I have begun writing it, I see that there’s just too much information to cram into one post. I will, therefore, be presenting this as a series.

It has recently come to my attention that, when talking about School Choice, many assume that I mean “vouchers,” and this is not necessarily the case. There are many ways to institute school choice, and a voucher system is certainly one of those options, but I want to make sure that those of you who read of my support for school choice are clear about to what I am referring.

First, why would I support school choice? There are a number of reasons why I support school choice, the first and most important being that parents, not the government, should have the final and ultimate say-so in their children’s education. I do not have children so that the government may take care of them. I have children because I understand and appreciate the importance of family, because I believe that children are a blessing, and, once one makes the decision to have children, the responsibility of care lies squarely on the shoulders of the parents. Parents can do a much better job of caring for children (in the vast majority of cases) than an third party, especially the government, and I want every opportunity to care for my children in the way that I see fit – not in the way the government tells me that I should care for them.

Another reason that I support school choice is because I want a better education for my children than the government has to offer. The government has every intention of keeping our children just educated enough to run the economy, but not educated enough to see when they are being overtaken by a tyrannical government. Public education is a major tenet of Communism for this very reason.

From the “Communist Manifesto:”

“”Do you charge us with wanting to stop the exploitation of children by their parents? To this crime we plead guilty!
“But, you will say, we destroy the most hallowed of relations when we replace home education by social.
“…The bourgeois claptrap about the family and education, about the hallowed co-relation of parent and child, becomes all the more disgusting…”

I want my children to have a Christ-centered education in which they know absolutely everything they can possibly know about the world from a Biblical foundation. I shall not shield my children from those things that seem to contradict Christianity…my education is so much better for having learned those things which seem to be contradictory to my beliefs. The Secular Humanist government schools offer no such opportunity. Not only has religion been completely eliminated, thus preventing children from learning about a huge part of our world, but teachers are forced to teach to the “lowest common denominator,” thus leaving more advanced children with a less-than-acceptable education.

I will home school my children whether the government institutes school choice or not. My husband and I are sacrificing so that I can stay home, but what about those for whom the sacrifice is too great? This is why the money being spent on children being sent to public schools should be available to those parents who want better for their children. At the very least, tax deductions should be made available to those of us paying for both public education through taxation and either private or home school education because we want better for our children.

