I have to begin by pointing out that those who are arguing in favor of amnesty refer to the ILLEGAL immigrants as undocumented immigrants. That makes about as much sense as calling a thief a “consumer of unpaid goods.” They’re ILLEGAL because they are undocumented. Call them what they are: law-breakers.

This is another one of those issues that has been so played out by the media that I was hoping to avoid blogging about it, but it’s finally made me mad enough that I have to get it all out of my system or my poor husband is going to get another one of those I’ve-been-watching-too-much-FoxNews-and-I-am-so-angry-my-head-is-going-to-explode phone calls. So here goes.

Exactly what sense does it make to decide that since such a huge number of people are breaking a law we should just do away with the law in question? We have immigration rules for a reason. Let’s use them. I’m sure that living in Mexico is really terrible and I’m also pretty sure that if I had to live there I would want to come to America, too; but jumping the fence is not the way to get a better life – there is a way to come here LEGALLY. I’m sure it’s hard, but aren’t all those things worth having worth working for?

This all seems so obvious to me I don’t even know what to say about it. I suppose I should just wait for someone to disagree with me on this so I can try to figure out what the argument is against actually following the rules (Steven, you’re good at playing devil’s advocate…give me something to work with!). So, here it is, readers. I think you should have to follow the rules. If you want to come to this country, you get in line and wait your turn. Learn the language, while you’re at it. If you’re here illegally, you’re a law-breaker and should be sent back from whence you came. How hard is this?

