Don’t get me wrong, I HATE cigarettes (at least the kind you buy at a gas station…I don’t mind pure tobacco either rolled at home or smoked from a pipe), but I’m a little suspicious of a study about which I just read. This study, from Japan, states that just 30 minutes of second-hand smoke exposure leads to hardening of the arteries. I’ll be honest…my gut reaction was “I knew it! Cigarettes are the devil!!!” But as my husband and I discussed it, he reminded me of the “junk science” of global warming and how similar it is to the left’s war on the tobacco industry.
I’ll be reading more about this – junkscience.com (my old buddy, Steve Malloy’s site) has a number of articles on the left’s hatred of big tobacco and the way in which they can manipulate “statistics” – and you can be sure that I’ll be writing more about it. In the meantime, go to Shamrock’s (On W. Walnut in Johnson City), buy some good old straight-from-the-fields tobacco and roll your own cigarettes (or smoke a pipe and look really dashing). At least that sort of tobacco smells good to us non-smokers…

