Like many of you are doing this time of year, I decided that it was time to bring my one plant that I haven’t killed over the summer inside so that I can kill it over the winter (some people have a green thumb, mine is more of a brown color – they call me the kiss of death at the local greenhouse). Anywho, I determined that the pretty hybiscus could sit on top of a bar stool in the kitchen (so the cat can’t reach it – she likes to eat plants). So I brought the plant in, sat it on the bar stool, and everything was going really well until I decided to water it. What I forgot is that most flower pots have little holes in the bottom so that excess water can run out and keep the plant from drowning to death (I, for one, have forgotten to unplug those little holes in a new flower pot or two and have thus been guilty of drowning a plant to death). I only remembered the existence of those little holes after I had dumped nearly the entire watering can full of water on top of the poor plant. I thought that maybe a grocery bag would do the trick until I could get one of those plastic plate thingies that catch the water for you. It didn’t work. I ended up with a watering can’s worth of water in my kitchen floor and now the plant is back outside just waiting to freeze to death. I promise I’m good with animals, it’s only plants that I viciously murder on a regular basis…

